- Advertisement -
Nurse Jobs and CareerSteps to Become Nurse Anesthetist, Nurse Midwives and Nurse Practitioner (APRNs) in...

Steps to Become Nurse Anesthetist, Nurse Midwives and Nurse Practitioner (APRNs) in United States

Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs)

A person who is specializing in Nurse Anesthetist, Nurse Midwives and Nurse Practitioner are called Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs).

Criteria to Become APRNs

1. Nurse need master degree in one of the specialty roles.

2. They must be licensed registered nurses in particular states of United States of America.

3. Nurse need to pass a national Certification exam.

Qualification or Education

1. Master degree in respective specialty (anesthesia, Midwifery) – curriculum should include specific course work, theory and clinical experience.

2. Before pursuing courses in APRNs, nurse need to have registered nursing (RN) license.

3. To study APRNs program, nurse need to have bachelor’s degree in nursing or diploma in nursing.  

4. If person don’t have bachelor’s degree in nursing, had graduate level program in relate to health science are accepted.

5. Basic qualification for APRNs is Master degree but nurse earn a Doctor of Nurse Practice (DNP) or PhD is added advantage.

6. For Nurse Anesthetist Program, nurse need to possess one year clinical experience prior to enrolling. Candidates need to work (clinical experience) as registered nurses in an acute care or critical care setting.

To become APRNs in United States, nurse need to have

1. Registered Nursing License.

2. Accredited graduate level program.

3. Pass a national certification exam. 

4. Earn second license specific to one of the APRN roles and to certain group of patients.
5. To use APRN title, certification is compulsory in vast majority of states in America. To obtain state licensure, certification is mandatory.


For Nurse Anesthetist

National Certification Examination (NCE) will be conducted by National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA). Certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs) must recertify via the Continued Professional Certification (CPC) Program every 4 years.

For Nurse Midwifery

The American Midwifery Certification Board offers the Certified Nurse-Midwife (CNM). Nurses with this designation need to recertify via the Certificate Maintenance Program every 5 years.

For Nurse Practitioner

For Nurse Practitioner, there are number of certification exams are available. Nurse Practitioner can take specific certification exams in which they may practice. Certification is provided by number of nursing professional organizations such as American Nurses Credentialing Center and the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board.

In addition, APRN positions may require certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), basic life support (BLS) certification, and/or advanced cardiac life support (ACLS). 

Important Qualities to Become APRNs  (SOURCE: BLS WEBSITE)

Communication skills. 

Advanced practice registered nurses must be able to communicate with patients and other healthcare professionals to ensure that the appropriate course of action is understood.

Critical-thinking skills.

 APRNs must be able to assess changes in a patient’s health, quickly determine the most appropriate course of action, and decide if a consultation with another healthcare professional is needed.


APRNs should be caring and sympathetic when treating patients who are in pain or who are experiencing emotional distress.

Detail oriented. 

APRNs must be responsible and detail oriented because they provide various treatments and medications that affect the health of their patients. During an evaluation, they must pick up on even the smallest changes in a patient’s condition.

Interpersonal skills. 

APRNs must work with patients and families as well as with other healthcare providers and staff within the organizations where they provide care. They should work as part of a team to determine and execute the best possible healthcare options for the patients they treat.

Leadership skills. 

APRNs often work in positions of seniority. They must effectively lead and sometimes manage other nurses on staff when providing patient care.


APRNs must know where to find the answers that they need in a timely fashion.

Scope of APRNs

1. APRNs can carried out advanced practice in hospital.

2. APRNs can also work in hospital as managerial or administrative roles.

3. APRNs who earn doctoral degree in nursing (PhD) can conduct independent research or work in inter professional research team.

Steps to become APRNs in United States

List of Useful Sites for APRN Certification Exams











Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Related article

Nurse Info